Keyzygirls Vape Blog

Another Ecigarette Vaping Blog

A Thank You To My Vaping Friends.

on April 7, 2012

This past year has been a tough one for me. First my Husband Jeff had heart surgery and then I had to have surgery on my head because of an infection that was spreading and it became a serious situation. They also found a tumor near my inner ear. I lost my hearing,balance and was in severe pain. The infection was very close to my brain. It really freaked me out.

I think that vaping helped me deal with all of this. When my Husband was in surgery having a 5x bypass,I was a mess. I was sitting in the hospital crying and I didn’t know what to do.We didnt have any family or friends in Miami and I was alone. We are from Key West. I was scared and I was vaping like a fiend. I got on ECF and talked to my vaping friends and they really helped me. I spent 5 days in the hospital room with my Husband because the Heart Surgeon asked me to stay with Jeff . He said that my Husband had asked for them to keep me there with him and the surgeon thought it would help Jeff feel better about everything. I stayed by his side the entire time. I vaped in the hospital constantly. I was a wreck and my nerves were frazzled. Nobody complained at all. I introduced a few of the medical personal to vaping and they were happy. Vaping was not a problem.

I posted updates on Jeff and about my feelings and fears. My vaping friends really helped me get through it. They checked the thread to see how we were doing and posted hugs and positive comments for me and Jeff. During all this I was getting sicker and had a fever and pain all through my head,neck and shoulders. I knew I was getting sicker but had to take care of  my husband before I could deal with my own issues. I wouldn’t have had the strength to get through it without my vape friends support and caring.  It meant the world to me.  I needed help and I got it. Vapers are good friends.

I took Jeff home and took care of him for a few months until he was back on his feet and strong enough to function. He went back to work on light duty and did great. I was thrilled that he was okay.  I love my Hubs and needed him to be healthy. Now I had to deal with my own issues.

Before Jeff started having heart issues I had been having head issues. I had been to several doctors and they thought it was allergies or gave me antibiotics and called it an ear infection. I kept pushing because I felt like a had a huge bubble of pain inside my skull and I couldn’t ignore it. I knew something was wrong. I was vaping to be healthy and I needed answers for this pain. Finally a neurologist did CAT scans and an MRI. They found a huge infection and a tumor and my heart sank. I was afraid I had cancer and I was afraid I was going to die.  I took care of Jeff  the whole time worrying and wondering what was going to happen to me.  I wanted him to be okay in case I wasnt. My kids needed at least one parent,right?

I had the first surgery and it took much longer than they planned,it was worse than what they thought. They were happy with the outcome and said it would take time for me to heal and adjust. I was in severe pain for weeks and could barely walk around the house without bumping off the walls.I had no balance at all and I couldn’t hear at all on my left side. After 3 months of this they checked again and assumed that the infection had come back and spread again. I wasnt getting better.I had to have another surgery.

The second surgery was much easier,they cut through the ear cartilage itself instead of cutting through my skull and the muscles in my head and they did not have to take my ear off again. It was much better the 2nd time. They found that the implants they used had shifted and replaced them with bigger titanium implants and fused the cartilage back together. It didnt take long before I started to feel better and the pain lessened over the past few weeks. I still have some pain and hearing and balance issues but Im getting better. I know  it would have been worse had I been a smoker,plus they wouldn’t have done the surgery if I was a smoker. They had no problem with the vaping. In fact I vaped in pre op and post op. I vaped every chance I had and nobody complained.  I needed the vaping to settle my frazzled nerves. I was really scared.

The point of this post was to get this all off my chest and to put it all behind me. It’s over. I had a bad year health wise,lost my job because of it and basically was getting a little depressed. I wanted you all to see that vaping helped me out emotionally,because of the friends I have made through vaping and the support I recieved.It helped me financially because vaping friends helped me with vaping supplies and juice and kept me going so I could remain a part of this wonderful community. Vaping friends have kept me company through all this through FB and ECF and V4L,I could barely leave the house for quite a while. I needed you guys very badly so I could  have any social activity at all,lol. You have kept me company and kept me amused. Vaping allowed me to have the surgery and get better. Vaping has meant more to me this past year than you can know. Thank you all.

Yesterday I saw my surgeon for a follow-up and I’m good. No infections,no tumor,no nothing. Im healing and getting better. I found out that the implant shifted and my balance and hearing will continue to be an issue,but that’s okay. I am healing, it will take some time but I’m getting better! I can get a hearing aid in a few months when Im all healed up and just move on. They could fix it with another surgery but I don’t think I’m going to go there again. Life is good right now and I’m a happy Vaper today!! A  few more months and I will be back to my old self.  I just wanted to say Thank you to everyone for getting me through this and for being there for me.  Thank You so much Vapers!!!!  I love you all!

VAPE ON!!

8 responses to “A Thank You To My Vaping Friends.

  1. Karen Meacham says:

    ((Hugs)) Keyze, Prayers are still being said for you and Jeff’s full recovery. I am glad that we could be there for you… CarrieM

  2. What a fantastic post this was. Not only because you were thanking the vaping community, but because it gave me more information on this chick I kinda know and like on Facebook. I’m so proud of you for getting through such a horribly tough year and I’m proud to call you a vaping friend.

    Justine 😮 )

  3. Lisa B says:

    I am so glad that you and Jeff are both doing better. You are a strong woman and the world is a better place having you in it. You helped me with my vaping and I am glad that all of us vapers were here for you when you needed us most. Love you, take care and vape away.

  4. Erik Bogren says:

    Keys,

    You are a special person and thank you for what you contribute to our vaping community. I wish you and Jeff the best, good health, and peace. Thanks for being you, and the wonderful read.

    Vape Loud, Vape Proud!
    Bogey

  5. So glad you had the support of the vaping community during this trying time. I have said more than once that my vaping friends are more like a family than just mere friends. So glad we could give you the love and friendship that you so richly deserve. Good luck!

  6. VapingTurtle says:

    Be well, Girl.

  7. I am so glad that you two are on the road to recovery. That was a GREAT article. Life can be so hard! FB friends can be so wonderful and I’m so glad they got you through your crisis. Vaping is so awesome also. Hope to keep in touch with you through FB. Carol

  8. eciglopedia says:

    awwwww keyzygirl,
    am so glad your on the road to recovery,thats awesome news sweetie.
    you’ll be in my thoughts and prayers sister…
    hugsssssssssss,
    eciglopedia
    aka
    stacey

Leave a Reply

